Sheep Shearing and Raspberries

The hot sheep finally got relieved of their beautiful, but heavy and hot wool coats. The sheep shearer came a few days ago and with sure, quick strokes he shaved our ten ewes while we watched. I labelled the fleeces as he laid them out to dry off in the hay room of the barn before going into their separate bags.

 ImageImageImage  ImageDSCF0086DSCF0090Here are some of the shorn Scottish Black Face, Tunis, and Dorset sheep out grazing with the fireflies. DSCF0123 DSCF0128 DSCF0130It’s time to start skirting, washing, carding, spinning, dying and knitting. There is plenty of wool!

The big, juicy, sweet black and red raspberries that line the garden fence are at their peak right now.

When we want a snack, we head out to the berry patch and fill up with berries. You can look at William and Ola’s berry smeared clothing and tell right away what we’ve been eating!DSCF0115 DSCF0116

I’ve also made some raspberry jam using a simple recipe from Put Em’ Up by Sherri Brooks Vinton.DSCF0097 DSCF0104

And a new favorite that’s going to become a regular- Crustless Raspberry Custard Pie.DSCF0092

We ate the whole pie in one sitting. Yep, next time I’m going to double the recipe. Or maybe triple it. Ola and William helped me to make it, and the very next morning after we ate it they were ready to make another one. The flour in the custard somehow sinks to the bottom as the pie bakes and forms a sort of soft crust. It’s simple to make and creamy and tart and the almond extract and raspberry go really well together. Here is the recipe from Baking Bites. I used Wades Mill flour, goat milk, and goat yogurt in mine.

Crustless Raspberry Custard Pie
1/2 cup all purpose flour
1/4 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1/3 cup sugar
2 large eggs
1/2 cup milk
1/2 cup yogurt (pref. greek-style)
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 tsp almond extract
12-oz fresh raspberries

Preheat oven to 350F. Lightly grease a 9-inch pie plate.
In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, salt and sugar.
In a large bowl, whisk together eggs, milk, yogurt, vanilla and almond extract until very smooth. Add in flour mixture and whisk to combine. This can also be done in the food processor.
Add raspberries into filling mixture and gently stir to coat. Pour into prepared pie plate, shifting raspberries around with a spoon or spatula to evenly distribute them in the pie.
Bake for 30-40 minutes, until custard is set and a knife inserted into the center of the pie comes out clean.
Allow to cool before slicing and serving.

Serves 8. (My opinion would be 4, but that’s just me!)  YUM!

Happy Summer Solstice to all!

DSCF0107 photo 1

photo 2 photo 3

This entry was posted by sophiemoeckel.

10 thoughts on “Sheep Shearing and Raspberries

  1. Sophie you sure managed to fit a lot into your summer solstice post. I could use some of that wool down here south of the border..brr! And that rasberry pie looks yummy in the tummy. Once again, your pics really bring to life Arcadia Farm. Te cuida

  2. Sophie, I luv you photos, stories, and your description of your life. I know Virginia and I always wanted to see all of you. Someday, I will come that way, just not now. I still have too many things on my to do list.
    Keep up your writing and definitely your cooking. How fun to go out and pick the fresh berries. I am afraid that I would look like the twins.
    Love to all! Barb

  3. Thanks for the recipe.  I’m going to make that for sure.  Sophie, you’re amazing.  I wish you’d come cook for me.

  4. Sophie, this is Ana! I loved your blog post…the pie looks amazing! The sheep sure do look different…Hope to see you all again soon. I’m so glad it’s summer! 🙂

  5. Hi Sophie! I am so glad you and Alan came to the FIncastle Winery on Saturday evening. We loved having you there. Your blog is so interesting and inviting, keep it up!

    • Are YOU giving cheese lessons? Can you come give me some? It’s not that far! 😉 I sure need them. I would love to swap recipes, but they aren’t mine, they are just from New England Cheesemaking. I would love, love, love your recipes whenever you get a chance which I know isn’t very often. I promise I won’t blog your secret recipes. 🙂
      Thanks for the comments.
      ~Sophie

Leave a Reply

